Unloved kid.

img050 I always felt frightened. I can’t remember not feeling like that. I lived with chaos, instability, violence, misery. I look at old photos of me and from the age of about four I have that same slightly blank, shell-shocked look in all of them. I was ignored, hit, humiliated, betrayed, and given away to people who abused me. I was unloved. I still sometimes feel that way. I think most of my current mental health problems come from the long-term effects of all the effort it took to survive. I AM loved now. I know that. But I weep daily for that little girl who was so easily and casually damaged by the people who were supposed to love her then.

About pippa

40-something, yogi, gardener, reader and writer. Not great at any of those things but more than happy to be average. I'm anxious, depressed, chaotic, boring, delighted, excited and often foolish. It's all good. And cake.
This entry was posted in anxiety, childhood, depression, Fear, mental health, relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unloved kid.

  1. thefeatheredsleep says:

    I can relate so much to what you wrote here. Ty

    • pippa says:

      Thank you for commenting. I’m sorry you can relate to this. I hope you are recovering and not still hurting. In a way I’m glad too though, that we aren’t alone in our pain. Sharing helps. I wish you lots of love.

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        But I am glad that r able to share and do it so well it means we are not alone I am thankful for your words u make a difference and that’s important. Xx

Leave a Reply

