I have a friend

who I have known for 20 years. His name is Stuart. We became friends back when I went to college as a mature student. (Even though I was only 23 at the time I had not been in education since I got married and had my little girl when I was 16 so I was classed as mature.) Stu was a good bit younger than me but we hit it off right away and became best friends. We did everything together, he worked his way into my heart and he became part of my family. Over the next 20 or so years we moved away from each other and lost touch a couple of times but never once have I felt apart from him. He is my best friend. My platonic soulmate. He gets me. I get him.

Last night was a bad night for me. I was so low and so lonely and very scared and somehow Stuart knew. He texted me and then phoned me and he talked to me lovingly and kindly and made all the misery go away. He made me cry and he made me laugh and he speared right to the absolute core of what’s damaging me and just plucked it out and burned it up. I felt stronger. I feel stronger. I feel loved. I can’t adequately say how much it means to me to have someone who I love so completely and wholly just somehow know that I need him. I have so much love in my life; it’s huge, real love coming from many different places. How wonderful is that? I couldn’t see it at all yesterday; everything was dreadful, but then Stu opened my eyes to the love everywhere around me, touching my heart, making me smile and making me cry and holding me safely. I am so lucky. So very lucky, after all these years, to still have my Stuey.

About pippa

40-something, yogi, gardener, reader and writer. Not great at any of those things but more than happy to be average. I'm anxious, depressed, chaotic, boring, delighted, excited and often foolish. It's all good. And cake.
This entry was posted in anxiety, depression, happy, mental health, relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

