Still singing.

I’ve had to stop going for my singing lessons for a while now.  Since J had his transplant I’ve had no time to go because I can’t leave him on his own for any length of time. This is about me I think, not him. I have no confidence that he’ll be safe while I’m out. I need to control every little thing at the moment but that will change. I need to practise going out for short periods and getting used to leaving him. Whatever, I have missed my lessons. I have missed feeling good about doing something that’s just for me. I love the lessons, we get silly and do voice exercises and breathing techniques and we have a good laugh and then I sing and it’s not great singing but it’s not terrible either and I really love it. It feels good. I sing a lot at home usually, but these last few weeks have been quiet. I couldn’t get to that part of me that wants to sing. Today though, I caught myself humming and I let it break out into a proper song. It was nice. It sounds pretentious and stupid as I’m writing it down but it’s how I’m feeling. I think it means I’m recovering. I think it means that I’ll be ok. Anyway, here’s what I found myself singing. Make of it what you will.

About pippa

40-something, yogi, gardener, reader and writer. Not great at any of those things but more than happy to be average. I'm anxious, depressed, chaotic, boring, delighted, excited and often foolish. It's all good. And cake.
This entry was posted in anxiety, happy, mental health, music, singing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

