Infection.

So now J has sepsis. The anti-rejection medication has suppressed his bone marrow and his blood count is in his boots. He got an infection and it’s run through him fast. He’s back in hospital and will have to be taken from Salford to Birmingham as soon as he can be moved. It feels like this will never end. Taking each day as it comes is the only way through this now. Thinking too far ahead is destructive. I can’t function if I start thinking through the possible outcomes. I am no use to him or to our child if I let myself get run down and frightened by things over which I have no control. I have to get my head down and keep going. Keep going. Keep going. Keep going.

About pippa

40-something, yogi, gardener, reader and writer. Not great at any of those things but more than happy to be average. I'm anxious, depressed, chaotic, boring, delighted, excited and often foolish. It's all good. And cake.
This entry was posted in liver transplant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

