So, bald.

What do I do? I think I’m losing my hair and I am stressing all the time about how much of it is coming out and I can see it everywhere and I cry in the shower and I can’t stand it much longer. I have medium length hair after years and years of very short cuts and it has recently been looking really nice and I’ve enjoyed being a bit more feminine. I know people like it and its a big part of my identity. But it’s falling out and it’s going to look thin quite soon. And my anxiety around it is severe. I get the urge to grab the shaver and just have done with it. I know that I’m very stressed out with things generally and I may just be focussing on the trivia of my hair as a displacement thing, but really, should I just shave my head and get to grips with bald? Will it help? I lost a lot of weight recently (70lbs) and I have just started to have confidence after 25 years of withering away in a mental and emotional corner and this hair loss now just seems cruel. Oh I feel so utterly selfish. It’s just hair. I’m a mess. A selfish, traumatised, fucked-up, horrible mess.

About pippa

40-something, yogi, gardener, reader and writer. Not great at any of those things but more than happy to be average. I'm anxious, depressed, chaotic, boring, delighted, excited and often foolish. It's all good. And cake.
This entry was posted in anxiety, mental health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

