Take this sinking boat and point it home…*

Oh dear. Another day where I was down more than up. But the up bits were amazing and I’m massively thankful for that. The down bits will probably happen more often as he gets more ill and I panic about how I’ll get him through this. But I will get him through. And I will get me through. It’s very difficult to imagine one day not having this weight around my neck and being normal again. Right now it feels like every last nerve is used up and I can’t see how I will survive tomorrow, when I take him back to Birmingham and wait for more tests and more decisions and the decision about whether he can have a transplant. It’s like the last big moment. The last giant hurdle. And if the answer is yes, then we can perhaps start to think again about a future. Whatever that is.

*Glen Hansard, “Falling Slowly”

About pippa

40-something, yogi, gardener, reader and writer. Not great at any of those things but more than happy to be average. I'm anxious, depressed, chaotic, boring, delighted, excited and often foolish. It's all good. And cake.
This entry was posted in anxiety, Fear and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take this sinking boat and point it home…*

  1. “Take this sinking boat and point it home” — I love this line from such a poignant and beautiful song. You have my thoughts and prayers as you make this journey. There is always hope!

Leave a Reply

